Day 11: The 7th of August

Today was a day. It happened.

So, I don’t really have anything to talk about in terms of what I did today. If I did, you probably wouldn’t want to read it. So I’ll just think of something else to talk about!

I’m going to talk about something positive for a change today! You see, most of the time in reality I am a cheerful guy, but I guess that might not shine through as well in this blog, given that I use it to vent mostly.

Since most of this post is going to be me talking about myself in a vaguely positive manner, feel free to skip it if you feel that my narcissism is too much to bear. I know I love it, so let’s get started.

Positivity for me has always been something I value most in my life. To have a smile on my face, or simply to be content in life is perfectly fine by me. I know this seems a bit arrogant, and I’ll agree that I’ve had a lot of help in my life from my amazing parents, my caring siblings and my dear friends. I am so grateful for everything they have done for me.

But being positive isn’t just for yourself. It’s almost impossible for me to be happy when I know that there is strife somewhere around me and, though it’s stupid, that usually just annoys me. Oh well.

I guess the main thing that allows me to stay positive is perspective. My mother had a serious illness near the centre of my childhood and I had to grow up fast in order to deal with it. Many of my nights would be spent holding her hand as she cried on my shoulder. And after it was all over and she was healthy again, I found that there was no going back to being a child. Not really.

Now I’m not saying that I am more intelligent than anyone else or that I am more grown up or anything. I’m also not going to say that I wish it didn’t happen, as much as that seems cruel. I never wanted to use my mother’s illness as a bargaining chip in school or with my friends and I wouldn’t change how I am now for anything. I feel the happiness I feel for just being myself has helped me round my character in recent years.

Another reason why I swore to try my best to be happy at all times was due to my first (and only) girlfriend. She created some of the toughest times of my life emotionally, even if it was mostly due to childish mistakes on both of our parts. I swore; when I broke up with her after she pushed me too far, never to let her see me look sad.

I guess that is kind of a broken way of living your life. But over the years I have learnt a lot about just taking life as it comes. Caring too much about things never really helps and, while there are serious issues that people need to deal with, I value happiness above all else. For everyone.

Anyway, that was my little arrogant rave about how brilliant I am. Had to happen sometime. Sorry if you read this and realised how much of a horrible person I am, but that is sadly the way of life. If you don’t mind though, I would love you to keep reading my blog. I promise not to talk about myself too much in the future!

Cheerio!

Elliott Rogers, novice blog writer extraordinaire.

Leave a Reply

