Day 105: The 9th of November

Another long day comes sliding to an end.

As I sit here in solitude, I cannot help but miss the company of the right honourable Ben and Emma Martin. It probably comes from all the law that I have been doing. I know that they find it somewhat interesting and amusing, and I have spent most of this evening covering criminal law again. In all fairness, I miss the company of all my family.

I managed to get a whole 4 hours sleep last night. This, unsurprisingly, made Land law seem even more dull than usual, causing me to almost nod off in the middle of the lecture. At least it was essentially a recap lecture, so it didn’t really matter. Tomorrow isn’t looking too good for sleep time either, though I guess I won’t have to work once I get back, so I may get an earlier night.

All of today was a vaguely pointless exercise. I had to get into university by 10:00 AM, which meant waking up at 5:00 AM as I have mentioned. And for what? A 45 minute talk on the formation of a coherent sentence for essay writing. Plus a little bit on referencing that we had already been told about.

This left me with a 5 hour gap to fill. Luckily I did most of my tutorial preparation in that time, so I guess it wasn’t a complete waste. Still, I want my 4 and a half hours of sleep that I lost refunded.

Anyway, onto the day’s writing!

Short Story

Gregory stepped into the small, dark room, his eyes not yet adjusted from the bright, crisp autumn sunlight shining in through the windows of the facility. It didn’t matter, he knew this room like the back of his hand, just the same as everyone else. In fact, the only thing of note in the room was a simple white table, large enough to hold a simple, black, rotary dial telephone. As he gazed at it he heard the door behind him quietly click shut.

This was the part that always made Gregory nervous. The room was completely silent, save for his laboured breathing. He had barely made it on time for his appointment and the authorities were very strict about scheduling. Slowly, he took a step towards the table and leaned both hands upon it, either side of the telephone. And waited.

It seemed like an eternity before the ringing began. Gregory smiled with the joy of a man seeing his lover for the first time in years and picked up the receiver.

When the door opened an hour later, a new man stepped out. Or rather, it was still Gregory, but now he was… different. His face shone with confidence and he sauntered away, humming under his breath and smiling in the sunlight.

Writing Prompts Used:

Three Nouns: courage phone table 

And on that bombshell, it is time for me to depart. Have a pleasant evening / morning everyone and I hope to see you all again very soon!

Elliott Rogers, novice blog writer extraordinaire.

Leave a Reply

