Day 106: The 10th of November

Chim chimney, chim chimney, chim chim cheroo. I does what I likes and I likes what I do!

I don’t know if I have mentioned this before, but I love singing when I’m alone. I’m not particularly good at it and I only sing songs from Disney movies and stuff like that, but I still enjoy it. It’s one of those things that I do without thinking while I am working on something that I don’t need to think about.

I remember, vividly, a time when I was cleaning the windows out the front of my house. I was quite young and I was helping my mother. Throughout the entire cleaning process I was singing ‘She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain’. I must have really annoyed my neighbours and my family. It’s a bit embarrassing to think about now.

Anyway, that is enough reminiscing. On to the story for tonight. I just want to say that I have no idea what I’m going to write about tonight, so I will pray for a decent prompt to come up.

Short Story

Lurking in the alleys of the streets of Gilbarn there are many creatures that no respectable folk would ever see. They may not even know of their existence at all, save for the scraps of fur that appear on their windowsill overnight and the flicker of movement in the darkness, seemingly just a draught catching the flame, as they carry their candles to bed.

Tonight was a special night, however. The moon shone brightly in the sky, filling it until you could see it no matter where you looked. Tonight was the night when realms were closest together. Where all is illuminated in the colourless moonlight and folk wander the streets, joking and laughing to keep spirits at bay.

As the groups walked towards the friendly orange glow of the bonfire, set in the centre of each district, a smaller figure broke off from the pack. A small slip of a boy, his long hair drifting over his eyes which lay half-lidded and weary. As they walked on, he yawned and sat at the mouth of a deep alleyway, leaning his back against the walls. Slowly his chin tilted forward to lay comfortably on his chest and the only motion for a long while was the rise and fall of his breathing.

The boy awoke some hours later to the feeling of something rough rubbing his hand. A heavy panting came from his left and he jumped up with a start, causing the creature to yelp and dash a few paces into the dark. The moon had yet to sink below the horizon, so there was still a faint light to see by and the boy took deep breaths and watched the figure carefully. Eventually he let out a sigh and squatted down, holding out his hand.

The creature that emerged from the shadows… was a dog. It was large, with the grey fur of a wolf and a lolling tongue. Yet, as it moved further into the light the boy noticed that it wasn’t fur covering its lean body. Very fine grey feathers coated it and gently ruffled in the breeze. On its back, stretching over its sides, were a pair of folded wings. As he watched, they unfurled, stretching from one side of the alley to the other before folding in again.

The creature sniffed the boy’s hand and then nuzzled it carefully, rubbing its face affectionately. The boy looked down and all the weariness that was on his face melted away.

Writing Prompts Used:

Three Nouns: curiosity moth dog 

I feel a lot of empathy with the boy in this one. I am also exhausted. Not getting a full night’s sleep very often really takes its toll. At least the next couple of days are easier, even if I still have to get up early.

Anyway, I’ll sign off here then. Thank you all for your continued interest in my writings, if any of you ever existed. I hope you all have a good day tomorrow!

Elliott Rogers, novice blog writer extraordinaire.

Leave a Reply

