Day 588: The 6th of March

Feeling slightly overwhelmed right now.

So much to do over the next week and no time at all to do it in. I am suffering from sleep deprivation, have a 1500 word essay to research and write in two days and two more tutorials to prepare in the same timespan. Next week I have another essay due in and a formative exam to revise for, as well as the tutorials for that week.

This is why whenever formatives come around I teeter on the verge of a mental breakdown. They give us no extra time to do about triple the normal work for the week and don’t even seem to care. It makes me feel like I am the crazy one for not wanting to give up my whole weekend to the university. Because if I don’t do tons of work on the weekend there is no way to keep up with the workload.

The thing is, these formatives won’t help. I know that, given that people I have talked to have already decided that they aren’t going to do well on them, given the time we have to do them. So why bother to assess us, if no one is going to be doing anywhere near as well as they would if you gave them the time to do the work?

Admittedly, this is partly my tutor’s problem. He is the only one of the tutors for Equity to insist that the formative is due in this week. Every other tutor is giving until next week. If we had that same timeframe I wouldn’t be worrying at all. I would have the time to do it. But no, he is an asshole. So I am fucked for this piece of work.

Well, first thing to do is get some sleep. You never know, I might get a lot of work done tomorrow. I had better, if I want a chance to get this essay done at all. Have a good Tuesday everyone.

Elliott Rogers, novice blog writer extraordinaire.

Leave a Reply

